It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/27

They kicked me out. I wasn’t supposed to come back after Christmas vacation, on account of I was flunking four subjects and not applying myself and all.

 

For this Monday, I am reading The Catcher in the Rye, by J.D. Salinger (234 pages)5107

This being a widely-read classic and all, I have not yet read it. I figured now was as good a time as any so I thought, “Why not?” and  ordered a copy off Amazon. All I knew when I started reading was that this was a coming of age story and I wanted the rest to be a surprise, so I am going to try and keep it that way. I just started reading it not too long ago so I’m not that far in, only a couple chapters. I know that this book is a classic and all, but I’m surprised how under-recommended this was to me. No one mentioned it to me, but maybe it’s just implied that you should read it. It’s hard to not have high expectations when starting something like this, but I’m gonna try my best to keep those at low to none, and I mean that in a good way. We’ll see if this will live up to its name for me.

 

So far, this book seems to hit pretty close to my ball park, so it’s keeping my interest. He’s flunked out of four of his classes and was given the same spiel that anyone who’s ever had the fortune to be in these types of situations has had. “Apply yourself.” I’ve heard it, I’ve heard my brothers hearing it, and quite frankly, I thought I was sick of hearing it. I get that they mean, but maybe there is more to it than that. Hopefully, after reading this novel, I’ll get a better understanding of what people mean when they say that, if at all, and hopefully change my own lifestyle. I’m really hoping that that’s not hoping for a lot.

 

I’ve been trying to squeeze in reading sessions for this book whenever I can scrounge up some free time. I usually try to open up the pages during my breaks in between classes or maybe if I’m watching something in the background.

 

Word Count: 348

 

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? 3/27

  1. I really like this book also. I agree that i have heard the apply yourself quote many times, but luckily I have not failed any classes. This book seems that either people love it or hate it.

    Like

  2. This is one of my dad’s favorite books and he has told me to read it a bunch of times. I agree that it’s very hard to go into classics like this with low or no expectations. It’s like they’re just built in! And my own brother and I have heard the “apply yourself” command from our parents too many times to count. It’s not that I don’t want to, but I’m too tired and sleepy so “do I really have to”???

    Like

  3. I haven’t read this book yet, but it doesn’t seem like my type of book. Glad you enjoyed reading it, that makes reading a little easier, i’m not to much of a fan of reading. I enjoyed reading your post, Take care.

    Like

  4. I’ve heard from my dad that this book really does help you “apply yourself”, I’ve read a couple of pages but it just didn’t hold my interest but i hope you find what you’re looking for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

